Cremation services Mentor, OH

The Grief of Losing a Loved One

Cremation services Mentor, OH, and the death of a beloved family member or close friend can shake your world upside down. It is something all of us will likely experience during our lifetimes. Even though everyone responds to the loss in their own way, there are some commonly shared experiences – and grief is one of them.

It is a natural response to losing something important in life and can take a significant toll on your physical and mental health. Let us discuss more grief, including its key phases, physical symptoms, and how to cope with it.

The “Stages” of Grief

You might have already heard about the five stages of grief. Before understanding these phases in detail, note that not everyone experiences them to the same extent. And most importantly, not in a specific order.

But they still provide insights into explaining the symptoms of grief, particularly the emotional manifestations. Let’s read them out!

1. Denial: The initial reaction to losing a loved one. It accompanies shock, numbness, and disbelief that the loved one has left you forever. Your brain uses denial as a defense mechanism to minimize the impact of this tragic news and prepare your body for what’s to come.

2. Anger: Soon after denial, your body starts accepting the harsh reality and what follows the second stage of grief is called anger. It may not come right after denial, but feelings of helplessness and frustration at not being able to change what happened are too common among grieving.

This anger is natural and short-lived and it is often not healthy for the mourning person.

3. Bargaining: At this time, your mind has already accepted the hard fact and you start second-guessing your own behavior. You wish to strike a bargain with God or high power that if you had only done something – or not done something – your loved one may not have died.

This may seem unrealistic but it’s natural.

4. Depression: Probably the most painful and lasting phase of the grief journey. This is more than just sadness and crying; it often accompanies mixed feelings of regret, loneliness, and being overwhelmed. If lasted longer, this can also lead to physiological issues such as decreased appetite and insomnia.

5. Acceptance: The last stage of your grief journey is when you have accepted the reality of the situation. The symptoms of shock and depression after the death of a loved one subside and you come to terms with the loss. Depending on your relationship with the departed soul, it may a few weeks to months to even years to reach acceptance.

Cremation services Mentor, OHHow to Cope with Grief

Sadly, there’s no magic cure you can take that can make your grief disappear overnight. However, you should:

  • Prioritize self-help
  • Take care of your diet and sleep well
  • Do exercise regularly
  • Spend time with family and friends
  • Indulge in a new hobby or activity
  • Consider reaching out for professional help from grief-related support groups, medical professionals, or a trusted friend. There’s no shame in asking for help when you need it.

These measures provide relief after cremation services Mentor, OH.