Cremation services Waite Hill, OH

All About Mourning

Cremation services Waite Hill, OH, can change you. You must have heard, “No two persons grieve in the same way.” Grief is a highly personalized event that varies from person to person. But Therese A. Rando found out that the mourners have certain commonalities in their grief journey.

Based on his research, Rando categorized the grief journey into six separate stages known as Dr. Rando’s Six Rs of Mourning. These include:

  • Recognize the loss
  • React to the separation
  • Recollect and re-experience
  • Relinquish old attachments
  • Readjust
  • Reinvest

He further divided the stages into three distinct phases, which are:

  • Avoidance
  • Confrontation
  • Accommodation

Let’s learn more about Rando’s Six ‘Rs of Mourning:

Phase 1: Avoidance

It is the person’s first reaction to hearing about the loss. At first, the mind finds it difficult to acknowledge that the loved one has passed away. According to Rando, this stage has just one task – recognizing the loss.

After some time, the person understands and accepts that the loved one has gone forever. And there begins the next phase which Rando calls the confrontation phase.

Phase 2: Confrontation

After acknowledging the painful reality, the person comes up with defense mechanisms to deal with the grief and sorrow that accompanies the death of the beloved. Generally, the mourners cope with the set of emotions in three separate tasks:

React to the separation: This stage involves reacting to and embracing a set of powerful emotions due to the passing away of the loved one. Consider this phase as how one accepts, feels, and responds to the loss.

Recollect and Re-experience: The bereaved start thinking about all the good and bad memories spent with the lost loved one. Thinking of the various ups and downs in life, and how the deceased brought positive changes in their life.

These memories define how the mourner finds a new relationship with the deceased.

Relinquish old attachments: It is the third and last stage of the Confrontation phase. The person doesn’t forget the loved one completely but instead, goes through a slow and gradual process to start adapting to the new reality. To the reality of life without the loved one.

Phase 3: Accommodation

In this phase, the mourner tries to find the meaning of life without the departed soul. The feelings of sadness and sorrow still accompany him but he is able to overcome them eventually and find moments of happiness in life.

Cremation services Waite Hill, OHThe two stages of this phase are:

Readjust: Trying to forget or get past the grief of the loved one and return to the normal routine. The loss of the beloved may have induced a permanent change in your outlook but will be better poised to cope with the challenges of daily life.

Reinvest: The mourners try to reinvest emotional energy by trying to explore new avenues of happiness. Such as indulging in new hobbies or fun activities that give them peace of mind.

The grief journey begins before the final service. Still, cremation services Waite Hill, OH, will let you say goodbye. Contact us today.